basswitch Posted June 2, 2009 Posted June 2, 2009 We went out to a local pond for a bit yesterday evening. I'm not really a "fish with teeth" kind of person, but I managed to hook up with a sizeable (est 30 inches) pike and got it all the way to the boat before it managed to bite off my line, I got a good visual... My question is, at what point does it "count" as a caught fish? If you catch a fish and manage to see it up close before it gets away, or do you actually have to boat/handle it? Silly question maybe, but I was just wonderin' Quote
Super User Bassn Blvd Posted June 2, 2009 Super User Posted June 2, 2009 If you COULD HAVE boated it but opted not to for whatever reason then I consider it caught.- Quote
S I G M A Posted June 2, 2009 Posted June 2, 2009 If you COULD HAVE boated it but opted not to for whatever reason then I consider it caught.- my standard as well Quote
basswitch Posted June 3, 2009 Author Posted June 3, 2009 Yeah, kinda what I figured. Ah well, fair enough ;D Quote
Super User .dsaavedra. Posted June 3, 2009 Super User Posted June 3, 2009 sunday i had a 4lb pickerel right at the boat and i was trying to get a grip on this thing, it wouldn't stop thrashing and its so slimy i couldn't get a good hold on it. in the struggle the hook ripped out, and immediately after the hook came out i reached under the fish , around the belly, lifted it up, and then it swam out of my hand. i do not count that as a fish caught... Quote
Super User Bassn Blvd Posted June 3, 2009 Super User Posted June 3, 2009 Me either Dave. I think you and I need a pair of boga grips. Quote
Super User .dsaavedra. Posted June 3, 2009 Super User Posted June 3, 2009 Me either Dave. I think you and I need a pair of boga grips. i'm probably gonna get a berkley digital lip grip sometime soon. Quote
Super User Grey Wolf Posted June 3, 2009 Super User Posted June 3, 2009 We went out to a local pond for a bit yesterday evening. I'm not really a "fish with teeth" kind of person, but I managed to hook up with a sizeable (est 30 inches) pike and got it all the way to the boat before it managed to bite off my line, I got a good visual... My question is, at what point does it "count" as a caught fish? If you catch a fish and manage to see it up close before it gets away, or do you actually have to boat/handle it? Silly question maybe, but I was just wonderin' Not until it's in the boat or on the bank. Any thing less does not count. Quote
Super User SirSnookalot Posted June 3, 2009 Super User Posted June 3, 2009 If you are strictly a recreational fisherman the standard is different. The object (for me) is hook it, fight and release it, if the fish gets off the hook anywhere near shore or the boat, it's a catch. Some fish are difficult and dangerous to handle, if they slip the hook, they have done me a favor. Quote
TrippyJai Posted June 3, 2009 Posted June 3, 2009 I feel like when you have complete control of the fish is when it counts as a caught fish. For example, if you land it in the boat or decided to release the pike the water because you didn't want to mess around with it. Quote
Super User roadwarrior Posted June 3, 2009 Super User Posted June 3, 2009 It counts if you say it counts! I like to get them in the boat or on the bank, but unless we're talking size, I don't really care. 8-) Quote
Lucky Craft Man Posted June 3, 2009 Posted June 3, 2009 Me either Dave. I think you and I need a pair of boga grips. i'm probably gonna get a berkley digital lip grip sometime soon. Those are nice, but if they get wet, they stop working until you completely dry it out. I had it happen to me several times when fishing in the rain. Quote
cato Posted June 3, 2009 Posted June 3, 2009 If I can touch him, he was caught! I guess you can look at this way if there is ever a question...lol.... If you were dependent on every meal coming from your catch (like the Indians did for example) you couldn't count it as a catch unless it was secured in your control. That being said, we don't count on it for meals but more for pleasure so if you want to say you caught him then I think you should say that you caught him! Quote
THEbassmaster Posted June 3, 2009 Posted June 3, 2009 me and my dad only count it if its in the boat in your hands. Quote
daviscw Posted June 3, 2009 Posted June 3, 2009 I know in offshore tournament fishing you have to touch the leader for the fish to count. Quote
D4u2s0t Posted June 5, 2009 Posted June 5, 2009 i think this is going to be different for anyone. i don't count it as caught untill I take the bait out of it's mouth. if it gets away at the boat or shore i don't count it as caught. Quote
basswitch Posted June 6, 2009 Author Posted June 6, 2009 It didn't really count in my mind, although I kinda wished it did just because it was a nice sized fish. But I was curious about everyone elses version of "caught" Thanks ;D Quote
mrlitetackle Posted June 6, 2009 Posted June 6, 2009 if its a PB...... it only counts with with full control (and a pic ) anything else...........well thats up to your discretion....... ive said that i caught a fish when the tiny little bugger flipped off inches in front of me....... and ive also said that one got away when it was likely 6lbs and flipped off inches away from me....... just sayin' IMO that you cant brag large fish without total dominance! Quote
mrlitetackle Posted June 6, 2009 Posted June 6, 2009 Posted by: basswitch Posted on: Today at 8:15pm It didn't really count in my mind, although I kinda wished it did just because it was a nice sized fish. But I was curious about everyone elses version of "caught" Thanks i just saw your post as i put mine up.........(i didnt read them all first, sometimes i get lazy)... so it seems that we both agree......but im sure it was a fun fight still ;D Quote
DawsonH Posted June 8, 2009 Posted June 8, 2009 On smaller pike and pickerel you can grab them right behind the eyes where the gill plates are and squeeze. Usually you can get a good enough grip there to lift them. Quote
PlasticMan135 Posted June 8, 2009 Posted June 8, 2009 My rule has always been you have to touch it. If you don't touch the fish, it doesn't count. Quote
tallydude Posted June 8, 2009 Posted June 8, 2009 If you COULD HAVE boated it but opted not to for whatever reason then I consider it caught.- Agreed. Alot of saltwater guys just try to touch the leader on their fish and that counts. Quote
LloydTheFisher Posted June 12, 2009 Posted June 12, 2009 Bass-Brat has the right answer as far as I am concerned. It is when it is on the bank or in the boat, bucket or live well. If you are catching and releasing then you do not have to worry about it, you just keep track how you want to or if in a tournament how they say to keep track follow the tournament rules. For me it is not caught unless I have it in the fridge or skillet Quote
avid Posted June 13, 2009 Posted June 13, 2009 Over the years I have fished with alot of different people. I can tell you that you raised a very hot topic!!!. I have seen this run all the extremes from guys counting the fish if they got a bite, to not counting anything unless it's landed. Personally I like to "count" (I actually do not keep a count) a fish as caught if I can get it up to the boat. This way you get all the fun from fooling and fighting but never have to stress him further by handling the fish or removing him from the water. IMHO it's the best of both worlds. Quote
Folshen Posted July 8, 2009 Posted July 8, 2009 Years ago with my uncle each outing was a contest to see who could catch the most fish. Our personal rule was it had to make it into the boat in order to count. Now a days, if its my daughter and I or the wife and I in the boat we still play by that "old rule". Quote
Recommended Posts
Join the conversation
You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.